IHSAA Releases 2020 Football Districts

The Iowa High School Athletic Association released 2020 football district assignments on Thursday. Week 1 of the 2020 football season is scheduled for Thursday, Aug. 27th, while the postseason will begin on Friday, Oct. 30th for all classes.

The IHSAA’s Ratings Percentage Index (RPI) will be used for ranking at-large qualifiers again in 2020. Notably, varsity football schedules will be compiled by the IHSAA for a one-year cycle only. The IHSAA plans to release complete team schedules in March pending a classification appeal by a member school, to be heard by the Representative Council.

Class 3A, 2A, 1A, and 8-Player will feature districts like normal, but the 40 large schools in Class 4A are split into seven ‘Groups,’ which feature a team from each separate tier in 4A, determined by a program’s success level over the last four years of football. Group schedules are designed for teams to play similarly tiered teams at the 4A level. Read more on the Class 4A ‘Groups’ here.

Below are district details for Algona, Bishop Garrigan, North Union, and West Bend-Mallard.

Class 2A: Algona Bulldogs

Class 2A features 54 teams split into nine six-team districts. Each district champion earns an automatic postseason big, while the RPI will determine seven at-large berths. Each team will play nine regular season games, five of which will be district games.

2A District #2

  • Algona
  • Cherokee, Washington
  • Estherville-Lincoln Central
  • Garner-Hayfield-Ventura
  • Okoboji, Millford
  • Spirit Lake


Class A: Bishop Garrigan Golden Bears and North Union Warriors

Class A is composed of 60 teams divided into six 10-team districts. All six district champions earn an automatic qualifying postseason spot. The RPI will determine six at-large postseason berths. Just like 2A, each team will play nine regular-season games, five of which will be district games.

A District #2

  • Alta-Aurelia
  • Bishop Garrigan
  • Manson Northwest Webster
  • North Union
  • St. Edmond
  • West Hancock


Eight-Player: West Bend-Mallard Wolverines

Eight-Player features 68 teams in eight districts, four of which include nine teams and four include eight teams. All eight district winners earn an automatic postseason spot and the final eight postseason positions are at-large, determined by the RPI. All Eight-Player teams will play nine regular season games and, depening on each team’s district, will play either eight or seven district games.

Eight-Player #1

  • Graettinger-Terril/Ruthven-Ayrshire
  • Harris-Lake Park
  • Kinglsey-Pierson
  • Newell-Fonda
  • River Valley, Correctionville
  • Siouxland Christian/Whiting
  • St. Mary’s, Remsen
  • West Bend-Mallard


Permanent link to this article: http://www.algonaradio.com/2020/02/ihsaa-releases-2020-football-districts/

1 comment

    • Patrick Bormann on February 6, 2020 at 1:38 pm
    • Reply

    Good reporting and cutting the clutter – thanks!!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.